The fillable online marriage application option is still available.
* No Licenses will be issued after 4:00 p.m *
What do I need to get a marriage license?
- Each applicant must bring current ID or original Birth Certificate
- Both parties must be present
What if one party cannot be present?
- You can get a form in our office that has to be filled out and notarized by the individual that cannot be present
What is the fee for a Marriage License?
- $30.00 cash or credit card(effective July 1, 2009)
- Must be 18 years of age
- If 17 years of age and younger, written consent issued by a Court Order from a Judicial Judge. (effective August 1, 2019) C.R.S. §14-2-108
- Both Applicants are required to sign the Application when applying for the Marriage License
- If one party cannot be present they will need the following: Absentee Affidavit – must be filled out completely & signed in the presence of Notary Public. Notary Public must also verify proof of age for the Applicant that is 18 years of age
- Witnesses are not required to live in Colorado
- Social Security Number required (list last 4 digits on the application, effective August 1, 2019). If a person does not have a Social Security # they will need initial the application form
- If either party was married before you need the following:
- Divorce - need the finalized date of the most recent Divorce (month, day and year)
- Where the Divorce took place i.e. what court, city, and state it occurred
- Death of spouse – need a date and place of death i.e. city and state
- Marriage License may be issued from any County Clerk & Recorder’s Office in the State of Colorado regardless of where you live but, you must be married in the State of Colorado for the license to be valid
- License is valid in Colorado for 35 days of issuance. If License is not used within those 35 days it must be returned to the County Clerk & Recorder for whom issued it for voiding or a penalty fee shall be assessed
- After the marriage, the License must be returned back to the County of issuance within 65 days of solemnization. Failure to do so shall result in late fees
- Late fee - not less than $20 for the first day and then additional $5 per day after that, with a maximum of $50 total collected.